
Bar Number:______________________________________________________________

Name:___________________________________________________________________

Firm:____________________________________________________________________

Firm Address:_____________________________________________________________

City, State:__________________________________________ Zip Code:_____________

Phone Number: _________________________ Fax Number:_______________________

Email Address:____________________________________________________________

Your name and email address may be disclosed to other 2015 Family Law Essentials attendees.
 Check here if you do not want your information released.

REGISTRATION FEES
By deadline as noted above, late registrations subject to space availability.

Full Day Program and Networking Lunch
 Family Law Section Members – $300.00 Pre-Registration ($330.00 On-Site)
 Non-Members – $370.00 Pre-Registration ($400.00 On-Site)
 Non-Profit Discount – 25% off
· Non-Member pricing includes a section membership for 2015 at a $25.00 discount.

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION (VISA/MasterCard Only)
I authorize The State Bar of California to charge my program registration to my VISA/MasterCard account. 
(No other credit card will be accepted.)

Account Number:__________________________________________________________

Expiration Date:___________________________________________________________

Cardholder’s Name:________________________________________________________

Cardholder’s Signature:_____________________________________________________

Deadline: In order to pre-register, your form and check , payable to The State Bar of California, or credit 
card information, must be received 5 days prior to the program. 

Mail To: Program Registrations, The State Bar of California, 
180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Fax To: Program Registration at 415-538-2368. In order to fax your registration, credit card 
information is MANDATORY.  
(Photocopies of checks will NOT be accepted.)

The State Bar of California and The Family Law Section are approved State Bar of California MCLE providers.

R e g i s t e r  O n l i n e  h t t p : / / f a m i l y l a w . c a l b a r . c a . g o v

Discovering the Theory of Your Case and Proving it at Trial:
The Interplay Between Discovery and Admitted Evidence

(Visa or MasterCard only)

FAMILY LAW ESSENTIALS
Discovering the Theory of  
Your Case and Proving it at Trial:
The Interplay Between Discovery 
and Admitted Evidence

San Diego: March 02, 2015
Los Angeles: March 23, 2015
Oakland: April 17, 2015
Fresno: May 18, 2015

Earn 6 Hours MCLE and Legal Specialization Credit 
in Family Law

Register Online http://familylaw.calbar.ca.gov

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA
THE FAMILY LAW SECTION PRESENTS

6 Hours of 

MCLE Credit & 

6 hours of  

Legal Specialization  

in Family Law

	 San Diego 
San Diego University 
Monday, March 2, 2015 

	 Oakland 
The State Building 
Friday, April 17, 2015 

	 Los Angeles 
The State Bar of California 
Monday, March 23, 2015 

	 Fresno 
San Joaquin College of Law 
Monday, May 18, 2015 

REGISTRATION FORM
Note: One registrant per form. Photocopies may be used.

(Required for email confirmation)



PROGRAM SCHEDULE
BREAKFAST AND REGISTRATION
8:00a.m. - 9:00a.m.

PRESENTERS

DISCOVERY
MAPPING OUT A SUCCESSFUL DISCOVERY PLAN
9:00a.m. - 10:00a.m.
Formal discovery or voluntary exchange? Shotgun approach or narrowly tailored? 
What you need to know to map out a successful plan of discovery. This hour will cover 
the types of discovery you may need, the various ways of getting what you want, and 
whether or not you actually need it at all. Learn to assess your case for a discovery 
plan that allows you to prepare for settlement or trial in its early stages.

IMPLEMENTING THE PLAN: HOW TO CONDUCT DISCOVERY
10:00a.m. - 11:00a.m.
Learn the nuts and bolts of propounding and responding to discovery, understanding 
the processes involved in the various methods, and the pros and cons to each. Tips 
on timing, how to deal with obstreperous opposing counsel and uncooperative clients 
along with declarations of disclosure. 

BREAK
11:00a.m. - 11:15a.m.

THE DISCOVERY PROCESS: KEEPING IT UNDER CONTROL
11:15a.m. - 12:15p.m.
This hour will delve into the issues surrounding both sides of the discovery process. 
Subjects covered will include the use of proper objections to discovery, extensions, 
protective orders, handling improper discovery responses, meet and confer, compelling 
discovery, sanctions, and the use of a discovery referee among others.

NETWORKING LUNCHEON
12:15p.m. - 1:30p.m.

EVIDENCE
WITNESS TESTIMONY: THE ART OF SELLING THE TRIER OF FACT THROUGH EXAMINATION
1:30p.m. - 2:30p.m.
Knowing the witnesses that will best tell your client’s story can make or break the case.  
The panel will discuss aspects of testimony offered by both expert and lay witnesses, 
as well as processes that can be used to set forth your best case.

BREAK
2:30p.m. - 2:45p.m.

UTILIZING THE RESULTS OF THE DISCOVERY PROCESS TO YOUR ADVANTAGE
2:45p.m. - 3:45p.m.
Now that you have it, how do you use it? Sometimes your best evidence isn’t going 
to take the witness stand. This hour focuses on how to get documentary evidence 
admitted, as well as how to keep your opponent’s evidence out. The panel will pay 
special attention to the nuances of social media evidence, the actual process of getting 
the fruits of your discovery efforts into evidence, and practical advice about preparing 
your document presentation.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER: BEYOND THE DISCOVERY TO SEAL THE CASE
3:45p.m. - 4:45p.m.
What other aspects of evidence will the practitioner need for success at trial? The 
course wraps up with an overview of various additional evidentiary considerations 
that will bear heavily on the final outcome. The panel emphasizes burdens of proof, 
presumptions, judicial notice, objections, and the practical aspects of the presentation 
of your case.

•	 Honorable Mark Albert Juhas
•	 Honorable Sue Alexander
•	 Honorable Jame Mitchell Mize

•	 Honorable Maureen Frances Hallahan
•	 Barbara K. Hammers, ACFLS
•	 John Daniel Hodson, ACFLS, AAML

SAN DIEGO 
Monday, March 2, 2015

MCC Auditorium 
University of San Diego 

5998 Alcala Park 
San Diego, CA 92110

OAKLAND 
Friday, April 17, 2015

The State Building 
1515 Clay Street 

Oakland, CA 94612

LOS ANGELES 
Monday, March 23, 2015

The State Bar of California 
Los Angeles Offices 

845 S Figueroa Street 
Los Angeles, CA 90017

FRESNO 
Monday, May 18, 2015

San Joaquin College of Law 
901 5th Street 

Clovis, CA 93612

R e g i s t e r  O n l i n e  h t t p : / / f a m i l y l a w . c a l b a r . c a . g o v

REGISTRATION ONLINE: http://familylaw.calbar.ca.gov

PRE-REGISTRATION BY MAIL:  
Your pre-registration must be received no later than 1-week in advance of the 
selected program location noted as follows:

San Diego, Monday, March 2, 2015

Los Angeles, Monday, March 23, 2015

Oakland, Friday, April 17, 2015

Fresno, Monday, May 18, 2015

PRE-REGISTRATION BY FAX:  
Please fax your pre-registration to Program Registrations at 415-538-2368 no 
later than the above noted deadlines for each location. Credit card information is 
mandatory. Do not mail originals.

ON-SITE REGISTRATIONS: 
On-site registration opens at 8:00 a.m. and is subject to space availability.

CANCELLATIONS/REFUND POLICY: 
Cancellations and requests for refunds must be received in writing no later than 
5 days prior to the program and are subject to a $25 service charge. Refunds will 
not be available after this date.

SPECIAL ASSISTANCE:  Please call 415-538-2238

QUESTIONS: For registration information, please call 415-538-2508.  For 
program content and Section information, please call 415-538-2238.

REGISTRATION INFORMATION
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