
THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA
THE FAMILY LAW SECTION

Register Online: http://familylaw.calbar.ca.govRegister Online: http://familylaw.calbar.ca.gov

FAMILY LAW ESSENTIALS 2016 
Going Through the Motions– 

Family Law RFO and Motion Practice 
Practical Pointers from the Bench and Bar

Earn 
6 Hours  

MCLE Credit Includes 

1 Hour of Legal Ethics and 

Legal Specialization in Family Law

FAMILY LAW ESSENTIALS 2016

The State Bar of California and the Family Law Section are approved State Bar of California MCLE providers.

Note: One registrant per form. Photocopies may be used.
REGISTRATION FORM
Select Program Location:
	 San Diego, University of San Diego, Monday, April 25, 2016
	 Malibu, Pepperdine University, Friday, April 29, 2016
	 Oakland, State Building, Monday, May 2, 2016
	 Redding, Redding Public Library, Monday, May 23, 2016

Bar Number:_ ________________________________________________________________

Name:_______________________________________________________________________

Firm:_________________________________________________________________________

Firm Address:_________________________________________________________________

City, State:_____________________________________________ Zip Code:____________

Phone Number: ______________________________________________________________

Email Address:________________________________________________________________

Program package includes 6 hours of MCLE and legal specialization credits, 
program materials, continental breakfast and lunch.
 Check here if you do not want your information released.

PRE-REGISTRATION FEES (check the appropriate circle)
	 $300	 �Family Law Section Members
	 $395	 Non-Section Members (includes enrollment in the Family Law Section for 2016)

25% Discount: Members—California Young Lawyers Association
	 $225	 Famliy Law Section Members
	 $320	 Non-Section Member (Includes enrollment in the Family Law Section for 2016)
**Onsite registration fees are $350 for Section Members and $445 for Non-Section Members

REGISTRATION INFORMATION
Deadline:	� In order to pre-register, your form and check, payable to The  

State Bar of California, or credit card information, must be 
received 5 working days prior to the program.

Register Online:	 http://familylaw.calbar.ca.gov
Mail To:	� Program Registrations, State Bar of California,  

180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105. 
Fax To:	�� Program Registration at 415-538-2368. In order to fax your  

registration, credit card information is MANDATORY.  
(Photocopies of checks will NOT be accepted.)

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION (VISA/MasterCard Only)
I authorize The State Bar of California to charge my program registration to my 
VISA/MasterCard account. (No other credit card will be accepted.)

Account Number:____________________________________________________________

Expiration Date:______________________________________________________________

Cardholder’s Name:__________________________________________________________

Cardholder’s Signature:_______________________________________________________

(Required for email confirmation)

(Visa or MasterCard only)

Malibu
Friday, April 29, 2016 

Pepperdine University 

Redding
Monday, May 23, 2016

Redding Public Library

San Diego
Monday, April 25, 2016 

University of San Diego

Oakland
Monday, May 2, 2016 

State Building



PROGRAM SCHEDULE
Going Through the Motions–Family Law RFO and Motion Practice
This one day class will cover the essentials of a Family Law Request For Order and other 
types of Motion Practice.  An esteemed panel of bench officers and attorneys will provide 
exclusive practice pointers for your Request For Order and Motion practice.

PRESENTERS
•	 Honorable Mark Albert Juhas
•	 Honorable Sue Alexander
•	 Honorable Maureen Francis Hallahan
•	 Honorable Dale Wells

REGISTRATION AND CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
8:00 am – 9:00 am
TEMPORARY ORDERSS
9:00 am – 10:00 am
Temporary orders often have a significant impact on the rest of the case.  In this hour, learn how 
to decide whether to ask for temporary orders pending the hearing and how to get your client 
the most effective temporary orders available.  This esteemed panel will also discuss when and 
how to ask for emergency (Ex Parte) orders, when an Order Shortening Time is appropriate, 
and how to craft your pleadings to ensure a successful beginning to your client’s case.

HEARINGS ON MOTIONS–LEGAL ETHICS
10:00 am – 11:00 am
You have your court date, now what?  Learn the essentials of hearings on motions.  How 
best to use Case Management.  How to maximize meet and confers.  When and how to 
make an Offer of Proof and request a long cause hearing.
MORNING BREAK–REFRESHMENTS PROVIDED
11:00 am – 11:15 am
SPECIALTY MOTIONSS
11:15 am – 12:15 pm
Less frequently seen in family law, and thus less likely to be mastered, the panel will walk you 
through how to properly and effectively navigate a series of specialty motions including but 
not limited to, Motions to Compel, Motions to Quash, Motions for Reconsideration, Motions 
to Enforce Settlement, Motions to Set Aside, and Motions to Certify for Appeal.
NETWORKING LUNCHEON
12:15 pm – 1:15 pm
ATTORNEY FEES AND SANCTIONS PART ONE
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm
So, you want to get paid.  This hour will provide invaluable tips on how to best obtain and 
defend FC 2030 requests and FC 271 claims.
AFTERNOON BREAK–REFRESHMENTS PROVIDED
2:30 pm – 2:45 pm
ATTORNEY FEES AND SANCTIONS PART TWO
2:45 pm – 3:45 pm
Just when you thought it was safe.  In this hour, the panel digs down into issues underlying 
fees and sanctions requests.  Learn how to better navigate a breach of fiduciary claim, 
discovery sanctions, enforcement, 128.7 fees, 177 sanctions, contempt, and how to obtain 
a clerks signature when the other side just will not sign.

POST-JUDGEMENT ORDERS
3:45 pm – 4:45 pm
Your client finally has a Judgment and now wants it modified or set aside.  Knowing what Post-
Judgment Modification and Set Aside Orders may be available and how to make the best 
use of burdens of proof can often make the difference.  Also learn how to deal with other post 
judgement issues such as post judgment discovery, motions for a new trial, and enforcement.
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REGISTRATION INFORMATION
REGISTRATION ONLINE: http://familylaw.cabar.ca.gov
PRE-REGISTRATION BY MAIL: 
Your pre-registration must be received no later than 5 working days in 
advance of the selected program location noted as follows:

Monday, April 25, 2016 
University of San Diego, San Diego 
Joan Kroc School of Peace Studies 
5998 Alcalá Park-KIPJ 134 
San Diego, CA 92110-2492

Friday, April 29, 2016 
Pepperdine, Malibu 
24255 Pacific Coast Highway 
Mailbu, CA 90263

Monday, May 2, 2016 
State Building, Oakland 
1515 Clay St 
Oakland, CA 94612

Monday, May 23, 2016 
Redding Public Library 
110 Parkview Ave 
Redding, CA 96002

PRE-REGISTRATION BY FAX: 
Please fax your pre-registration to Program Registration at 415-538-2368 
no later than the above noted deadlines for each location.  Credit card 
information is mandatory.  Do not mail originals.

ON-SITE REGISTRATION 
On-site registration opens at 8:00 a.m. and is subject to space availability.

CANCELLATION/REFUND POLICY: 
Cancellations and requests for refunds must be received in writing no later 
than 5 working days prior to the program and are subject to a $50.00 service 
charge. Refunds will not be available after this date.

SPECIAL ASSISTANCE: 
Please call 415-538-2238

QUESTIONS: 
For registration information, please call 415-538-2508.  For program content 
and section information, please call 415-538-2238

•	 John Daniel Hodson, CFLS, AAML
•	 Barbara K. Hammers, CFLS
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